Lazyitis

I always start out with good intentions, but laziness often gets in the way and they become left by the wayside. I am aware this is the case, so I try to develop ways of preventing this from happening. This is typically achieved by attempting to implement improved, more efficient methods but, occasionally, things slip through the net.

This is either because the new method cuts a corner, thus omitting the good intention altogether (albeit unintentionally), or just because my laziness kicked in and the good intention was omitted over a period of time.

The purpose of this post is to remind me of some of those things which are a good idea, were briefly forgotten about, and are about to slip through the net. This post is therefore acting as that net.

Reflection in teaching is one of the most important tools to help improve practice, but other pressures of the job often get in the way. This blog, as a whole, together with social media and online forums go a long way to helping that (if used correctly), but nothing beats a colleague entering your classroom, observing and feeding back. Thanks SB.

SB was in the classroom for no more than two minutes.
“[Student ‘X’] looked bored while you were taking the register” was the feedback.

Ouch. That hit me right where it hurt. Any pride that I may have had felt like it had disappeared instantly. But it has played on my mind since. I have thought about it long and hard. Was he bored? Why was he bored? What would stop him from being bored? What could I do differently to stop him from being bored? What am I going to do to stop him from being bored? And, to help my pride, how can I demonstrate to SB that he has never been bored since and will never be bored again? Ok, so that last question may seem far-fetched, but it is what I strive to achieve [right?].

While this feedback does not necessarily follow ‘the rules’, or guidelines, of giving feedback, it certainly made me stop and think – and reflect when I may not have done so otherwise. I need to somehow not forget that feeling I felt when SB pointed out to me the observation. The clearer I can remember that feeling, the more likely I am not to want a repeat – and the more effective the ‘net’ will be at saving those good ideas – and defeating laziness.

I continue in my quest to improve.

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

1 thought on “Lazyitis”

  1. You could just point out to SB (insert name of any other of thousands of other dozy, superior-minded individuals that the taking of registers is a mindless activity and you as teacher were probably doing EXCELLENTLY to avoid looking bored yourself. Then suggest the school gets itself into the 21st Century with automatic iris-recognition digital registration so that as soon as the students (ha! misnmoer if ever there was one) enter the room you can get on with the job of presenting a dynamic, entertaining, FUN!!!! lesson that will fully equip them and prepare them for entering the big grown up world of work where, of course, NO ONE IS EVER BORED!!!!!! (Except for a) boring people, and b) teachers who still have to take registers)

Leave a Reply

