Finishing on a high

I have run more than 55 miles this week, including 3 tough interval sessions – 4*3 minutes Kenyan hills, 6*1km intervals (with 30 seconds recovery) and 4*1 mile intervals. It is hardly surprising that my legs have felt lethargic. Furthermore, yesterday was a long run and today I ran a 5 mile warmup before my final race of the year.

Unsurprisingly, I didn’t feel sharp during the 6.5km cross country, but none of these factors are excuses. In fact, they are different cogs in the wheel that is my training regime. As such, the ‘race’ was to be more of a training session. My previous best was a 23:30 and MS had calculated a club handicap time of 23:00, but these were ‘milestones’ rather than targets.

I started slowly and felt like I was treading water as runners whom I would normally use as gauges seemed to be performing significantly better than myself. I continued with this feeling throughout, downhill as well as uphill, even glancing over my shoulder on the home straight, until I eventually crossed the line… in a time of 22 minutes 56 seconds.

According to my race pace calculator, this now becomes the best race I have ever run – better than any performance on the road. Admittedly this calculator is less effective at the extremities (6.5k Is a relatively short distance), but this is the first time a race could be extrapolated to a sub-60 minute 10 mile. Roll on Wymondham 10k and 2012.

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

Leave a Reply

