Winter has arrived

Last night’s training session ended with a noticeable tightening of my hamstring in the final strides. It had been particularly cold, but I had gone running in shorts once again (and had even considering wearing a t-shirt) in close to freezing temperatures, with a bitterly cold wind-chill.

The pain had played on mind throughout the night and today, and the thinking exacerbated that pain, but I decided to go for a run regardless. However, I wrapped up warm this time – in case I had to stop and walk home. Short tights were underneath long tights. A t-shirt was underneath a long sleeve top which, in turn, was underneath a windproof jacket. And I wore a hat, snood and gloves for good measure.

I ended up feeling too warm but, significantly, there was less pain in my hamstring. On occasion, I even strided out, with much success. Fingers crossed, there are no further repercussions, but yesterday’s winter lesson has been learned (for now, at least) – keep warm.

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

Leave a Reply

