Lord of the hill

It is almost ten years since I last ran a hill session in a similar fashion to that which I did tonight. However, since I no longer live in Loughborough, there were some notable differences:

  1. Leicestershire has plenty of steep hills. Norfolk does not.
  2. Adaptations due to [1] meant that 10 repeats were run instead of 6.
  3. Further adaptations due to [1] meant that each repeat was longer.
  4. Even more adaptations due to [1] meant that recoveries were jogged rather than walked.
  5. Thorpe Hill repeats became known as ‘Seb Coe Hills’ after the famous runner of the same name who used to train on them. The only runners I know who have ever run repeats of Park Lane are AB, JN and myself.

I have included some images from Google Maps and Street View to demonstrate point [1]. Points [2], [3] and [4] turn the session into more of a marathon training session than a 1500m session.

I still can’t help thinking I need to find a steeper hill though, as I would be rather disappointed if Park Lane were to be named Simon Levy Hills… unless, of course, it is run with my marathon adaptations.

These adaptations remind me of an interesting quote by Maya Angelou:
If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

1 thought on “Lord of the hill”

  1. Simon – For hill sessions try Castle Acre area; South Acre road (the side of the 1065 heading up towards Sporle and River Road (heading up towards Swaffham). You can also head to Bawsey/Leziate gravel works for off-road shorter, steeper inclines. Just a couple of areas I used to head to…

Leave a Reply

