Playing catch up

For one reason and another, these last few weeks have not been very conducive to good training. Following illness during half term, work has now entered the busy season in the lead-up to Christmas.

There is much that I want to write about on the subject of work, what with a probable strike on the horizon, but I don’t want this to become political or to cause any unrest so will focus on running. Although politics and running combined earlier in the week when I became Road Running Coordinator at the running club, but that’s a story for another day to save me digressing once more.

Soon after the summer holidays (sometime in the middle of September), it became apparent that, this year, I have the opportunity to achieve something that I may not be able to do again in the future; there is a chance that I may run 2500 miles in a single year. That may not seem much of a surprise given that I ran from Paris to London (~220 miles) in April, but 2500 miles marks about 600 miles more than I have ever run in a single year. For comparison, my target was to hit 2000 miles, which I passed in October.

Unfortunately, illness and work commitments have combined to mean that this will now be hard work. I will need to average between 45 and 50 miles a week for the last 7 weeks of the year. However, that’s on a par with 2500 miles for the year anyway. The only difference being that I don’t have any more time to spare; every day, and every run, from here on in, matters. To be precise I need to run 270 miles in the next 41 days in order to achieve this.

Normally, I wouldn’t be too worried about such a challenge. But if, for example, I were to suffer a setback in the next few weeks, I could overcome that by ‘doing extra’ in the following weeks. But, the problem with such a strategy is that my primary target at present is training for a successful London Marathon in April – and overtraining in December could well put paid to any hopes of that.

It is precisely this prioritisation that I must focus on. The ultimate goal must not be sacrificed for secondary goals along the way. Which brings me nicely onto another of my secondary goals – I have now entered the Trail Marathon Wales.

April will show if playing catch up in such a fashion is foolilsh.

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

Leave a Reply

