Treading a fine line

The line separating fitness from injury is a fine one. It can sometimes be a few weeks before you can tell if a good week of training was judged correctly, or the foundations of a demise.

Following my good run in the Holt 10k, my temperature dropped quickly, together with my blood-sugar levels and I felt rather ill in the afternoon. This has happened in the past when I have run well, although is usually confined to longer distance races, so I wasn’t concerned.

The following day, my legs felt great and, unusually for my recent training plan, I went for an easy 5 mile run around town. But that night, I had a bad night’s sleep and woke up in the morning feeling slightly ill. I rested that day, hoping it would pass. The next two days, I felt no worse, so went for a run on Friday. Again, I felt no worse so continued on Saturday, Sunday and Monday – taking it easy each time. It was half term, so I figured the enforced break from the usual routine would also help.

However, after Monday’s run, I felt worse. By Tuesday, I was really ill and didn’t run comfortably again for over a week. I missed the Fenland 10m, took the following week easy and have now had one good week’s training. My legs still feel like they are heavy, but that didn’t stop me racing this morning.

Currently, I feel ok but, by this time next week, I may discover that I have overdone it. Either way, I am now investigating summer races – Trail Marathon Wales, anyone?

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

Leave a Reply

