Tracking and feedback

As a teacher, I have always tried to maintain an electronic register. In the past I have used this to help me track students’ progress and write reports. But I don’t always use this information as well as I could and, as such, I sometimes end up with more information than the students themselves – when they are the ones who need to know how to improve.

To overcome this problem, I have recently cleaned up the ‘front end’, so that students (and/or their parents) could potentially access this information. The idea is that students would go to a web address, type in their unique ‘user information’ and they would have access to their current performance, targets and what they need to do in order to improve.

I would be grateful if any readers (teachers, parents, others) could take the time to have a look at the Excel file (here) and let me have their thoughts. Although the file currently only contains fictitious data, I have hidden the ‘back end’ in an attempt to prevent potential hackers (i.e. parents and students) from maliciously (or otherwise) seeing other people’s information in a complete version; I would therefore also be interested to know if anyone can identify any flaws in the file’s security.

While I appreciate this won’t necessarily have a direct impact on what goes on in the classroom, I think it could potentially improve my overall practice if used effectively. An apparent flaw could be the amount of automation in the process – and the potential lack of my input. However, the file has been set up so that I can enter as much (or as little) information as I choose, increasing in accuracy with more data entered. It also started as a completely blank ‘canvas’ so is specific to my own current requirements.

In case there are any problems with the file, I have uploaded some pictures of what the document currently looks like.

Thank you.

Author: ttsjl

I'm short and need to put on some weight

Leave a Reply

